Tags

, , , , ,

dsc_0375

I have felt like a spider eager to knit his cobweb since the moment I laid my eyes (and hands, and heart) on the wonderful ITO Sensai yarn!

So here it is – my first lace shawl washed and blocked! While knitting I thought i was simply satisfying my eagerness to try something new and was contemplating on the idea of giving this shawl as present to someone. But the moment it was finished and wrapped around my neck I knew I wont’be able to give this wonder away!

dsc_0388

It is unbelievable lightweight (37 grams!) and airy, yet really warm, and not so small: wingspan is 150cm and spine – 75 cm after blocking. I admit – I had a few episodes of really bad language while knitting this one, especially when I noticed I made a mistake couple of rows ago. If you have ever tried to frog mohair yarn, you will understand why… It does not frog – just like that… Oh, and that last BO row seemed like eternity, if I am not mistaken it took more than an hour just to bind it off! But boy it was worth every minute I’ve spent!

OK, I think it is enough of boasting for one time 😀

QUICK DETAILS

  • Pattern: Rainy Day Shawl by Anne-Lise Maigaard
  • Size: wingspan – 175 cm, spine – 75 cm
  • Yarn: ITO Sensai, color 309 red, 2 balls (37 grams to be exact)
  • Needle: 4 mm cubics

VISUAL TRIBUTE

