Tags

, ,

DSC_0510

Finally – I have it. It took me a month to turn the colorful yarn parcel into this cheerful and warm knitwear. Of course, I managed to complete a couple of smaller project during that time, and had a few knitting-free weekend as well… I chose Drops alpaca for this project, because it is a rather hairy yarn. This pullover is knit using Scandinavian technique called Bohus Stickning – it requires fine gauge, hairy yarn (best would be a blend with angora), and the motives are not the traditional deers and snowflakes, but rather some abstract colorful compositions. And, it often uses purl stitches. I image it would look wonderful to use close colors – hairy yarn and purling would create an amazing color traditions in the pattern. One more thing making this technique a bit challenging is the use of more than 2 colors in one row – it can lead you to managing 5 colors at a time. Can you imagine this colorful mess?

DSC_0493

My pullover is a  modern version. The yarn is fine, but the gauge is looser, colors are contrasting. And yet I have a strong feeling I might find myself making a more traditional version ad using some kind of angora blend for the next cold season!

So how did it go for me with this Bohus thing? The colored pattern was slow… I had to concentrate not to get lost between colors, knit and purl stitches and increases at first. But  once the pattern was in my head, the only slow thing was keeping the wrong side tidy and not getting all tangled up 😀 All the rest went like a breeze. Oh, yes and I caught myself  cursing while knitting the pattern on the sleeves using magic loop. I didn’t have DPNs of the ritgh size… Oh well, it all went away once I could get dressed!

DSC_0482

And one more thing – I love alpaca. It is so warm, yet so light, and there’s no need to put multiple layers underneath!

DSC_0547

QUICK DETAILS

 

VISUAL TRIBUTE

(Thank You, Reda! www.animalsindresses.com)

 

