Tags

, , , , ,

6

I’m back and continue on presenting my FO’s of this summer! Usually I have a rather reserved opinion about self striping yarns. It always seems to me that it would be too hard to manage it and not to end up with a vertigo causing mix of colors. But looks like this summer was a summer of experiments!

1

This project started as a very very boxy pullover. I bought the yarn and started off, thinking that the worst case scenario would be some strange thing to wear on the beach. To tell You the truth, it would have been really boring to crochet this thing in a fine thread, because in general it just 2 really large rectangles, with a small neck shaping. BUT, here comes a self striping yarn that makes this process more fun, as You always wanna make a row or two more to see how the colors will behave.

I finished coloring crocheting those rectangles, washed them and hung (???) to dry. As You can probably guess that hanging was the reason why a pullover turned into a dress 😀

5

When I started sewing I realized that a self striping yarn should probably be used in a seamless projects, because when it comes to matching a sewing thread color to the garment all You get is a headache…. BUT, if You were to crochet/knit in rounds the rows would be much longer and the color stripes would look different. So, again, it is really a matter of taste and one’s wishes 🙂

3I matched a rope-belt found in my wardrobe and the same underdress from my previous post  and got myself a  happy looking summer dress!

Oh, and I have a confession to make – I can’t decide which side is right and which is wrong, so in case I took my pictures wearing it inside out, let’s pretend that’s just the way it had to be!

QUICK DETAILS:

  • Pattern: Boatneck Pullover by Deborah Newton, Vogue Knitting Crochet 2014
  • Yarn: Katia Jaipur, 320 g.
  • Crochet hook: 1.5 mm

VISUAL TRIBUTE

