Tags

, , ,

I’m still bragging about the previously finished projects 🙂 This time a project which made me believe that I can knit anything, even a male sweater 😀

Firmaments Lace Shawl. Yarn: Filatura di crosa Centolavaggi. Neddle: 2.5 mm

Firmaments Lace Shawl. Yarn: Filatura di crosa Centolavaggi. Neddle: 2.5 mm

That’s a real cobweb. I still can’t believe that I myself was able to knit such a big project using such a vapory yarn held single. I used about 1.5 km of yarn and the shawl is practically weightless.  

Firmaments Lace Shawl. Yarn: Filatura di crosa Centolavaggi. Neddle: 2.5 mm

Firmaments Lace Shawl. Yarn: Filatura di crosa Centolavaggi. Neddle: 2.5 mm

The most difficult and complicated moment was the very beginning. The DP needles were constantly slipping out, until I tried bamboo ones. That did the trick, as they were virtually weightless and not so slippery. After a few rounds my knitting got more stable and now I could race through the charts.

I followed the  description precisely. It is really clear and easy to follow. The only thing I skipped was those markers. I used only one for the beginning of the round. I don’t understand placing markers at the beginning and end of every pattern motive. Ok, I admit when it is the very beginning of the pattern it helps not to get lost, but when the pattern is visible and clear at plain site, sliding markers really gets on my nerves… 🙂 I like counting stitches  – keeps my brain busy 🙂

This shawl and yarn wears perfectly. It is so soft  delicate to the skin, even the biggest noli me tangere would love it 🙂

All in all – i loved making this shawl and I get a feeling there will be more projects of this kind!

